One Hundred & Forty Characters

All about the One Forty and the big show in November

Character Of The Day: @msmirandasawyer

leave a comment »

@msmirandasawyer

“I like this picture because it represents my whole family. Although there’s only me and my son in it, he’s wearing a T-shirt that says Smiley on it, which is my husband’s name; and I’m five months pregnant with our daughter. So there’s four people in there, not just two.

I look quite mad in it, which I like too. That crazy, rictus grin: I was hot, and fat, and tired and my son was playing up. The only solution was to turn him upside down and make him laugh. I notice that in another one of the 140 Characters pictures, another small boy is being held in the same way. It’s a default solution for boys, it makes them normal again, like rebooting a computer, or reprogramming Buzz Lightyear to his factory settings.

Unlike most of the other people photographed, I’ve known Chris Floyd for a long time. I was the journalist on his very first paid commission, for Select magazine: we went out on a boat on the Thames with Vic Reeves and Bob Mortimer. It was a laugh, though Chris was quite quiet – he isn’t, usually, but underneath his charm, he’s a teeny bit shy and I think that was evident then. On other jobs, he was much more outgoing: we spent a hilarious afternoon at Shaun Ryder’s house when Shaun was living next door to Bez, in a small town in the Peak District (where the League of Gentlemen was filmed, fact fans). Their gardens abutted and we nipped in and out of their houses, with Shaun and Bez getting more and more relaxed: Shaun going quiet, except for the odd, growly outburst, Bez morphing into a cartoon on fast forward. Their kids were there, messing about, but it felt like a chill-out room at a nightclub. Except with no roof and in Royston Vasey.

It’s been nice to hook up with Chris again via Twitter: he’s funny and he refuses to go along with the liberal consensus that Twitter can create. Sometimes Twitter is like a sixth form common room, with everyone getting overheated about the most trivial deviation from the politically correct line. But mostly, for me, it’s the office I don’t have to travel to: I work from home, by myself, and Twitter gives me the gossip and laughs and advice that I can’t give myself. It’s a massive distraction, of course, so I tend to binge-tweet, usually after too many coffees.

It irritates me when people who don’t use Twitter slag it off, make out that tweeting means that you don’t talk to people in real life. Well, no, I don’t: I’m at home, on my own. I don’t talk to people unless I’m sitting next to them. I never answer the phone. Twitter has definitely made my life more fun, and it isn’t such a big deal. It’s just people chatting, bringing news, trying to make each other laugh.”

Written by Chris Floyd

September 30, 2011 at 1:29 pm

Leave a Reply

