One Hundred & Forty Characters

All about the One Forty and the big show in November

Character Of The Day: @mattleys

with one comment

@mattleys

“This is all @GarethAveyard’s fault.

He told me he was down in London for the day, what was I doing? I was working. He was going to have his picture taken. I should go too. I should have my picture taken.

I hate having my picture taken. I’m 6’4” and skinny and gawky and I hate having my picture taken. But it was Gareth. I’d jump a row of buses like Eddie Kidd to see Gareth. And he was in London. Having his picture taken.

So I had my picture taken. When I walked in I imagine Chris thought “who the hell’s this giant Gareth has dragged in? He’s 6’4” and skinny and gawky. I bet he hates having his picture taken.” But he didn’t say it out loud, which was nice. Instead he made me and Gareth and @Klutchenko and @LaraPattison feel more relaxed than a cat on a radiator and he took the best pictures of me I’ve ever seen.

One effect of Twitter is the way it randomly throws people together in odd ways. A few days before the shoot, I’d been at a comedy gig, watching Simon Evans on stage. He said someone had tweeted that they were coming to the gig. The person in question identified themselves but it was an L-shaped room so I couldn’t see who it was. While we were in Chris’ studio for the shoot, I realised it was @LaraPattison. We had never met, but we’d been in the same room twice in a week.

It wasn’t really random, of course. We like to think Twitter is a microcosm of the world, but we select who we follow and we create our own echo chamber. Media people claim that Twitter is full of media people. It’s not, it’s just that they are following lots of other media people. I imagine that firemen and librarians and unemployed shepherds experience the same thing. But look at the list of trending topics on any one day, and you realise we’re barely scraping the surface.”

Written by Chris Floyd

September 27, 2011 at 11:16 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. look at how tall and how….nevermind.
    Excellent sir, you look excellent.

    gdorean (@gdorean)

    September 27, 2011 at 12:58 pm


Leave a Reply

