One Hundred & Forty Characters

All about the One Forty and the big show in November

Character Of The Day: @emma_blau

with 2 comments

@emma_blau

“I wanted to be Debbie Harry when I grew up. I also wanted to be one of Pan’s People. My favourite film is Some Like It Hot. I’m terrified of thunder and sharks.

As a photographer, I find having my photograph taken a strangely nerve-racking experience. Even more so looking at the resulting picture. My critical, visual, photographer’s eye reaches new heights of scrutiny when analysing an image of myself it would seem. To some extent, surely we all hope that a photo of ourselves captures us in a good light, that it somehow conveys an idealised version of who we are (or who we would like people to think we are) to our eventual ‘audience’?

I have started to become more and more interested in genealogy. Tracing my ancestors. Attempting to work out why I am the way I am and look the way I do. With each death in the family this quest for information grows stronger.  In this context, for me, photographs are historical documents. Once someone has died, a photograph of that person is sometimes all we have left to make an assessment from.  I therefore find the stakes are high when being photographed. This is it. This is the image I will leave behind. In years to come, this is the document that other people may use to investigate, analyse and remember me by.

So. Here it is: this is me.”

Written by Chris Floyd

September 23, 2011 at 11:33 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. @emmablau doesn´t exist.. 😦

    José Antonio - Bloggauta

    October 10, 2011 at 11:13 am

    • Aargh! You’re quite right. She’s @emma_blau – I’m so sorry.

      Chris

      Chris Floyd

      October 10, 2011 at 11:22 am


Leave a Reply

